1983 – 1986

The Julius Maximilians University of Würzburg, Germany

PhD (summa cum laude), Computer Science

The University of Würzburg was founded in 1402 and is one of Germany’s oldest universities. A total of 14 Nobel Laureates in Science and Medicine have researched and taught at the University of Würzburg.

1978 – 1983

RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Bachelor’s and Master's Degree (with distinction), Computer Science

RWTH Aachen University is known as the “MIT of Germany” and specializes in Engineering, Science, and Medicine. The RWTH Aachen has Germany’s leading automotive engineering school and a supercomputing institute with some of Europe's largest parallel computers.